NEWS  

1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 • Fax: 215-238-1267 • www.philadelphiabar.org

03/27/2013

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


Contact: Mark Tarasiewicz

Phone: 215-238-6346


Volunteers Needed for YLD Law Week April 29 - May 3

The Young Lawyers Division will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Supreme Court's ruling in Gideon v. Wainwright during Law Week from April 29 to May 3. The YLD needs volunteers to participate in its community outreach programs. Legal Advice Live! Monday, April 29: Legal Advice Live! kicks off the week with dozens of Philadelphia attorneys gathering to providving free, in-person legal advice from 12 to 2 p.m. at four branches of the Free Library of Philadelphia: Central (1901 Vine St.); Ramonita de Rodriguez (600 W. Girard Ave.; Spanish-speaking attorneys needed); Haverford (5543 Haverford Ave.); and Donatucci (1935 Shunk St.). Attorneys will provide answers to legal questions on a broad range of topics, including personal injury, medical malpractice, landlord/tenant law, divorce and child custody matters, wills and estate planning, real estate law and employment law. To volunteer please contact Ashley Kenney at akenney@griesinglaw.com or Vincent Barbera at Barberav@whiteandwilliams.com.

Poster, Essay Contests and Naturalization Ceremony – Tuesday, April 30: As part of Law Week, the YLD will sponsors a poster and an essay contest around the theme of Law Day. Winners of the poster contest receive gift certificates. The winner of the Edward F. Chacker Essay Contest – named after the former Chancellor of the Bar Association – will read aloud his or her essay at a naturalization ceremony at the U.S. Courthouse in Philadelphia, welcoming dozens of new U.S. citizens. The winner of the essay contest also receives a $1,000 college scholarship paid for by the law firm of Gay Chacker & Mittin, P.C. For more information, contact Jennifer Russell at jenniferannrussell@gmail.com or Andrew Kornblau at akornblau@lcbf.com.

Lawyer in the Classroom: Tuesday, April 30 - Thursday, May 2: The YLD sends its best and brightest minds into our local classrooms to answer questions about the legal profession and to address students' concerns about the law and the legal issues that affect them as they enter adulthood. Contact Jennifer Lin at jennifer.lin@phila.gov or Philip Amoa at pamoa@mccarter.com to volunteer.

LegalLine – Wednesday, May 1: Free and confidential legal advice will be given to those who call the LegalLine hotline from 5 to 8 p.m. Attorneys will staff a phone bank at the headquarters of the Philadelphia Bar Association, 1101 Market St., 11th Floor. Contact Charece Z. Collins at ccollins@wglaw.com or Feyi Obafemi at oobafemi@cozen.com to learn more.

"Goldilocks," "The Big Bad Wolf," and "Jack and the Beanstalk" Mock Trials – Friday, May 3: Volunteer judges from the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas and attorneys dressed as fairy tale characters will use the facts from "Goldilocks," "Three Little Pigs" and "Jack and the Beanstalk" to present mock trials to nearly 300 Philadelphia grade school students at various courtrooms in City Hall. Spanish-speaking attorneys are needed for this program as well. Volunteer by contacting Erin Lamb at erin.lamb@courts.phila.gov or Ryan Gatto at gatto@smsm.com.

Lawyer for a Day – Friday, May 3: The culminating event of the Bar Association's Law Week 2013 celebration, volunteer attorneys from the Philadelphia Bar Association will accompany approximately 100 Philadelphia students from 14 different high schools into the Criminal Justice Center and City Hall to witness live court proceedings. Learn more from Shabrei Parker at shabrei.parker@gmail.com or Joe Fantini at jfantini@anapolschwartz.com.

-30-