NEWS  

1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 • Fax: 215-238-1267 • www.philadelphiabar.org

02/20/2013

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


Contact: Mark Tarasiewicz

Phone: 215-238-6346


New Jersey Supreme Court Opens the Attorney Online Registration and Payment Center for 2013

The Attorney Online Registration and Payment Center is now open, and attorneys are encouraged to register and pay any required fees by April 26, 2013. An electronic notice about the online system has been sent to each attorney who previously registered on-line. In addition, a User ID and temporary password has been mailed to each attorney who has never used the online system to facilitate a transition to the online process.

To complete your registration and pay online, go to www.njcourts.com/attyreg, click on “Attorney Online Registration and Payment Center” and follow the on-screen directions.

Pursuant to Rules 1:20-1(b) and (c), 1:28-2(a), 1:28B-1(e), and1:42-2(b), attorneys licensed to practice in New Jersey are annually required to pay an assessment and file a registration statement in a form prescribed by the Administrative Director with approval of the Supreme Court. The New Jersey Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection ("Fund") collects the assessment; the money collected supports the Fund, the disciplinary process, the Lawyers Assistance Program and the Board on Continuing Legal Education (BCLE). If you did not receive your log-in information or if you have questions concerning registration and billing, please contact the Fund at (609) 292-8079 or CPF.Mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us.

In addition to the annual registration requirement, attorneys maintaining a plenary or limited license to practice law in New Jersey must participate in a program of continuing legal education (CLE) in accordance with Rule 1:42. Beginning with the 2013 attorney registration, a noncompliance fee of $50 will be assessed against attorneys who report that they did not complete the required courses by the deadline for course completion. An additional $50 (for a total of $100) will be assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their CLE courses within the grace period given pursuant to BCLE Reg. 402:1 and against attorneys who fail to report regarding compliance at all.

The Court approved amendments to the CLE regulations, including those related to alternative verifiable learning formats and reciprocity. In addition, certain fees were changed. Please review the Board on Continuing Legal Education’s regulations at www.judiciary.state.nj.us/cle/. If you have questions concerning CLE, please contact staff to the BCLE at SCTCLE.Mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us or 609-633- 9733.

-30-